Clarke Prize Awarded to Dr. Karl Linden

National Water Research Institute (NWRI) and the Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clarke Foundation presented the 2020 Clarke Prize to Dr. Karl Linden on Nov. 10, 2020.

Linden is the Mortenson Professor in Sustainable Development at the University of Colorado Boulder. He is past president of the Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors and past president and current board member for the International Ultraviolet Association (IUVA). Linden’s research focuses on UV LEDs and UV for distributed water treatment systems.

A link to the virtual ceremony, featuring a lecture by Linden, is on the NWRI website. The Clarke Prize is the most prestigious water prize in the US, awarded annually to thought leaders in water research, science, technology or policy.

For more information, visit